Best of Ceylon and Sri Lanka Banknotes, Coins and Stamps

Largest collection of Banknotes, Coins, Stamps, Stamp Mini Sheets (souvenir sheets), First Day Covers, Mint Stamps & Used Stamps since 1935

එකතුකරන්නන් සඳහා 1935 සිට විශාලතම ශ්‍රී ලංකා මුදල් නෝට්ටු, කාසි, මුද්දර, මුද්දර මිනි ෂීට් (සිහිවටන පත්‍ර), පළමු දින කවර, භාවිත නොකළ මුද්දර සහ භාවිත කළ මුද්දර එකතුව
1935 முதல் இலங்கை நாணயத் தாள்கள், நாணயங்கள், முத்திரைகள், முத்திரையிடப்பட்ட மினி-தாள்கள் (நினைவுப் பொருட்கள்), முதல் நாள் அட்டைகள், பயன்படுத்தப்படாத முத்திரைகள் மற்றும் பயன்படுத்திய முத்திரைகள் ஆகியவற்றின் மிகப்பெரிய சேகரிப்பு

Popular Searches: Bishops College, Colombo Coin, Colombo Train, Sinhalese New Year, Dharmaraja College, Institute Of Engineers Sri Lanka, Royal College, Trinity College Kandy

ශ්‍රී ලංකා මුදල් නෝට්ටු, කාසි සහ මුද්දර සොයන්න
இலங்கை நாணயத் தாள்கள், நாணயங்கள் மற்றும் முத்திரைகளைக் கண்டறியவும்


Collection of Stamps for Sri Lanka (& Ceylon before 1972). Collectors items related to Bishops College. Bishop's College in Colombo, Sri Lanka was founded by the Church of England in Ceylon in February 1875. Located in colombo 3, Sri Lanka, it was one of the earliest mission schools of the Church of England in Ceylon. The college was first known as Bishopsgate School. The Bishop of Colombo, the Rt.Revd. James Chapman (1845-1862) was instrumental in setting up Bishopsgate School. Bishop's College is the sister school of S.Thomas' College Mt.Lavinia and this influence has had a great impact in maintaining the discipline and quality of Bishop's College. The current principal is Mrs. Hemamali Bibile. Bishop's College with the postal address of No. 15 Boyd Place Colombo 3, celebrates its 125th Anniversary in the year 2000.

1875 is the official date from which the count begins but there is an earlier connection. Mrs. Frances Chapman wife of Bishop Chapman had set her heart on setting up a school for Christian girls with funds collected while in Furlough in England. She established a school in 1857, a school in their own residence in Mutwal called Bishopsgate, with 20 pupils she desired. The Principal was Mrs. Long, who had served earlier at the Church Missionary School in Nallur, Jaffna. In May 1859 Mrs. Chapman returned to England due to ill health, and Mrs. Long passed away in 1861. The school had to be temporarily closed and no reference to its reopening is available in the Diocesan Archives. So Bishop's College dates her new beginnings to 1875, when the school with 13 pupils was established at Fairfield House in Darley Road, under the same name - Bishopsgate school. Fairfield House is the present site of Link Holdings Ltd. Even today the words 'Bishopsgate' stands engraved at the entrance to the building. The first Principal to come out was Miss. Down., who on marriage became Mrs. Henry Drew. Among the first girls enrolled were Minnie Von Possner, Hilda Obeysekera, Dorah Aserappah and Caroline Peiris. The first boys to enter the kindergarten were James and Donald Obeysekera and Leslie de Saram. Monthly expenses in running the school were about Rs. 300/= which included rent, salaries, and the hire of a piano.

The income in fees in the first month totaled Rs. 302/50! In 1887, three Sisters from St. Margrets Convent in East Grinstead, England had come out to Ceylon on missionary work. Theirs was a sorority founded by Dr. John Mason Neale in 1855, which had now expanded to overseas mission. After a short location at Greenpath, they established their Convent at Polwatta, Colpety. One of them, Sister Joanna Mary, was asked to help in the running of the school. Principals and teachers who came out to Ceylon to fulfil the goals of Christian Mission, often had to leave due to ill health, the rigors of the tropical climate or p+D2ersonal reasons. The answer seemed to be with the Sister of St. Margaret, and Sister Angela was the first Sister to be Principal of Bishopsgate school. The school was to be an institution to promote educational advancement, and also a finishing school for the daughters of Christian families. Subjects taught directed them to the Cambridge local examination: French, Drawing, Singing, and piano playing were also on the curriculum. In 1890, then Bishop of Colombo, Bishop R.S. Copleston, purchased the Maradatin Cinnamon Gardens bordering on Boyd Place, Colpety. The school moved from Darley Road to these premises in 1892, and was renamed as Bishop's College.

Although the Sisters of St. Margaret had by now for some years been associated with the running of the school, it was now with this shift that the school was passed into their care. Proximity to St. Margaret's Convent at Polwatte, was of great significance. For an unbroken period of sixty years from 1895-1955 these Sisters guided the students of Bishop's College, not only in their mental development but in the levels of charity, community spirit and public service and upholding of he school motto 'Non Sibi Sed Omnibus'


Collection of Coins for Sri Lanka (& Ceylon before 1972). Collectors items related to Colombo Coin. Collection of Ceylon and Sri Lanka Coins. In Sri Lanka there are coins in the denominations of 1, 2, 5, 10, 25, 50 cents and 1, 2, 5, 10 Rupees. There are banknotes in the denominations of 10, 20, 50, 100, 200, 1000 and 2000 Rupees.


Collection of Stamps for Sri Lanka (& Ceylon before 1972). Collectors items related to Colombo Train. The Viceroy Special is a 75 year old private train and the only steam train still in operation in Sri Lanka. The train has two air-conditioned observation saloons furnished in period style, with 64 plush reclining seats and individual adjustable tables. A public address system is available for guides to describe details of the journey or for suitable music to be broadcast. Each saloon has an adjoining smokers' lounge and a modern toilet. There is also a restaurant car, elegantly furnished with Edwardian ribbed fans and teak-trimmed wood paneling is complete with a fully equipped kitchen and a well complemented bar.


Collection of Stamps for Sri Lanka (& Ceylon before 1972). Collectors items related to Sinhalese New Year. In April (the month of Bak), when the sun moves from the Meena Rashiya (House of Pisces) to the Mesha Rashiya (House of Aries) in the celestial sphere; Sri Lankans begin celebrating their New Year or Aluth Avurudhu (in Sinhala) and Puththandu (in Tamil). It marks the end of the harvest season and also coincides with one of 2 instances when the sun is directly above Sri Lanka. On the day of celebrations, the sun is directly above Koggala (where a sun devale can be found). A new year of the Saka era begins with each festival. However, unlike the Western celebration of the new year at midnight on December 31st, the Sri Lankan New Year begins at a time determined by astrological signs. Also unlike western traditions; the ending of the old year, and the beginning of the new year occur several hours apart from one another (this span is determined by astrology as well) - this period is, aptly enough, referred to as the nona gathe (neutral period). During this time Sri Lankans are, according to custom, encouraged to refrain from material pursuits, and engage solely in religious activities and traditional games. The date upon which the Sri Lankan New Year occurred, while determined by astrological signs, also tends to coincide with the end of the harvest season - for this reason, many farming communities celebrate the new year while gathering fruits that have fallen from their trees.

Cultural rituals begin shortly after the beginning of the new year with the cleaning of the house and lighting of an oil lamp. In some communities, women congregate to play upon on the raban (drum) to warn others of the incipient change in the year. Families indulge in a variety of rituals which are carefully determined by astrological calculations - from lighting the fire to making the kiri bath, (milk rice) to entering into the first business transaction and eating the first morsels. Once these are done, the partying really begins as families mingle in the streets, homes are thrown open and children are let out to play. The ubiquitous plantain is dished out alongside celebratory feasts of kaung (small oil cake) and kokis (crisp and light sweetmeat, originally from the Netherlands). Aurudu has become an important national holiday for both the cultures of the Sinhalese Buddhists and the Tamil Hindu Sri Lankans, and is unique as such, as it is not celebrated in the same manner elsewhere in the world (some countries do celebrate a similar festival on the same date or a near date).


Collection of Stamps for Sri Lanka (& Ceylon before 1972). Collectors items related to Dharmaraja College. Dharmaraja College now a premiere Buddhist school in this country will be 115 years old an June 30th this year. It had been started due to the efforts of Col. Henry Steele Olcott, the founder of the Theosophical Society in the country, in an abandoned Bana Salawa in the premises of the Natha Devalaya, with a Buddhist, Andiris de Silva as Headmaster with eight boys followed by D.B. Jayathilake (later Sir Don Baron) as the first Principal who began building it up. He was succeeded by three Courageous and devoted foreigners. Harry Bambury, Wilton Hack (after brief break with C.S. Rajarathnam a Tamil Advocate) K. F. Billimoria, a parsee from Bombay who had visited Ceylon (S. L.) from Bombury and Hack had shown much pluck and courage, despite lack of funds many odds and opposition from Christian missionaries who had already established a Christian school in Kandy. With British occupation and the opening up of the hills for coffee plantations the villages had been driven to the foot of hills and were eking out an existence. Undaunted, Bambury had Hack finding the funds from the few benefactors insufficient, had gone to these distance places and collected money to develop the School.


Collection of Stamps for Sri Lanka (& Ceylon before 1972). Collectors items related to Institute Of Engineers Sri Lanka. The Institution of Engineers, Sri Lanka, popularly known as the IESL, is the premier professional body for engineers in Sri Lanka. It has a history spanning a period of more than 100 years. Its membership which has grown over the years presently stands at around 10,000 covering almost all disciplines of engineering. There are many attractions and benefits to those who join the IESL which is committed towards uplifting the status and the interests of the engineering profession in the country.


Collection of Stamps for Sri Lanka (& Ceylon before 1972). Collectors items related to Royal College. The Royal College Colombo (commonly known as Royal) was founded in January 1835. It is considered to be the leading Public School in Sri Lanka. It is a National School, meaning that it is controlled by the central government as opposed to the Provincial Council and provides both primary and secondary education. Royal College has produced many distinguished personalities, including 2 Presidents of two countries, a Sultan, three Prime Ministers and countless number of intellectuals. The school was founded by the Rev. Joseph Marsh, the acting Colonial Chaplain at St. Paul's Church as the Hill Street Academy in January 1835, as a private institution with 20 students, mainly from the upper class Burgher community situated at Hill Street, Pettah.

In January 4, 1836, the British Governor of Ceylon Sir Robert Wilmot-Horton, converted it, as the Colombo Academy, into a public school modeled on Eton College, with Marsh continuing as Head master. The oldest Public School on the island with the governor as its patron, it was intended to give to the children of leading Ceylonese an education which would make them fit to be citizens of the British Empire. In July 1836 the school was moved to San Sebastian Hill, Pettah, it would stay there for another 75 years before being shifted to Thurstan Road. In 1859 it was renamed Colombo Academy and Queens College and affiliated to the University of Oxford. In 1865 the Morgan Committee of inquiry into education recommended that it be reorganized and that scholarships should be awarded to study in Oxford.

It became the Colombo Academy once again in 1869. In 1881 it was renamed Royal College with the royal consent from Her Majesty Queen Victoria. The Gazette Notification giving Her Majesty Queen Victoria's approval to change the name of the school was appeared on July 31, 1881. With the introduction of free education in Ceylon in 1931 Royal stopped charging fees from its students thus proving education free of charge to this day. Old College Building (1911-1921)The school was originally at Maradana, right next to Hulftsdorp, but moved to San Sebastian, Pettah and then in 27 August 1913 the school was moved to its new building at Thurstan Road which is now the main building of the University of Colombo.

Ten years later on 10th October 1923 the school moved once again, this time to the newly built Victorian styled building on Reid Avenue, which it still occupies. This move was due the suggestion made by a higher education committee in 1914, witch suggested that Royal College should be converted in to a University College. Due to the objections made by members of the Royal College Old Boys Union, especially by the speeches made by Frederick Dornhorst KC, the Governor of Ceylon Lord Chalmers instead created a separate University College named University College Colombo, at the schools former premises which became the University of Colombo in the later years. In 1940 the school was again on the move this time due to the start of World War II in the far east.

The school was ordered to move out and the British Army moved in establishing a military hospital in the school buildings. Principal E.L. Bradby made sure the education of the students was carried on unhindered by moving the students in to four private villas (known as bungalows in Ceylon) at Turret Street, Colombo and shifting the 1-3 forms to Glendale bungalow in Bandarawela where it was till 1948. After the war the school was relocated to its old home on Ried Avenue, Colombo. In August 1977 the Royal College Preparatory School was amalgamated to Royal College forming the school's primary school, with it came the county's only national theatre at the time the Navarangahala.


Collection Stamps for Sri Lanka (& Ceylon before 1972). Collectors items related to Trinity College Kandy. Trinity College, Kandy founded in 1872 by Anglican missionaries, is as an Independent private boys


Collection of Stamps for Sri Lanka (& Ceylon before 1972). Collectors items related to Maithripala Senanayake. Maithripala Senanayake (b. 17 July 1916) was a Sri Lankan politician. He first studied at St. Joseph's College, Anuradhapura then at St. John's Jaffna, where he attained a mastery in the Tamil Language and later finally at Nalanda College, Colombo. He entered parliament from Medawachchiya Electorate Anuradhapura in 1947 when then Ceylon held its first parliamentary elections. When D.S. Senanayake picked his Cabinet in 1952 this promising young man from Raja Rata, Maithripala Senanayake was appointed as Parliamentary Secretary to the Ministry of Home Affairs. Later he not only resigned from the post he held, but also from the UNP, after submitting resignation to Prime Minister Dudley Senanayake. At the following General Election, he retained the Medawachchiya seat as an Independent. Then followed by some momentous years S.W.R.D. Bandaranaike was biding his time after he had resigned from UNP and making plans for the future with his nascent Sri Lanka Freedom Party and offered a place to Maithripala Senanayake, who was then an Independent MP in Parliament. Senanayake has held many portfolios and has been Acting Prime Minister 19 times, Leader of the House, Chief Government Whip, and Deputy Leader of the Opposition at various times, In the realm of Foreign Affairs, Maithripala Senanayake has also played a major role, when the then Prime Minister Mrs. Sirimavo Bandaranaike was President of the Non-aligned Movement, he led the Sri Lanka delegation to the Non-aligned Conference held in Colombo.


The Pinnawela Elephant Orphanage was started in 1975 by the Department of Wildlife on a twenty five acre coconut property on the Maha Oya river at Rambukkana. The orphanage was primarily designed to afford care and protection to the many baby elephants found in the jungle without their mothers. In most of these cases the mother had either died or been killed. In some instances the baby had fallen into a pit and in others the mother had fallen in and died. Initially this orphanage was at the Wilpattu National Park, then shifted to the tourist complex at Bentota and then to the Dehiwala Zoo. From the Dehiwala Zoo it was shifted 1975 to Pinnawela. At the time it was shifted the orphanage had five baby elephants which formed its nucleus. It was hoped that this facility would attract both local and foreign visitors, the income from which would help to maintain the orphanage. There are only a few elephant orphanages in the world. Pinnawela has now become one of the bigger orphanages and is quite well known world wide.

Stamps Banknotes Coins, SRI LANKA RUPEE

Collection of Banknotes, Stamps and Coins for Sri Lanka (& Ceylon before 1972). Collectors items related to Sri Lanka Rupee. The British pound became Ceylon's official money of account in 1825, replacing the Ceylonese rixdollar at a rate of 1 pound = 13 rixdollars, and British silver coin was made legal tender. Treasury notes denominated in pounds were issued in 1827, replacing the earlier rixdollar notes. Rixdollar notes not presented for exchange were demonetized in June 1831. The Indian rupee was made Ceylon's standard coin 26 September 1836, and Ceylon reverted to the Indian currency area. Pound-denominated treasury notes continued to circulate after 1836, along with the rupee. The legal currency remained British silver and accounts were kept in pounds, shillings and pence. However, payments were made in rupees and annas at the 'fictitious par' (fixed accounting rate) of 2 shillings per rupee (i.e., 1 pound = 10 rupees). The Bank of Ceylon was the first private bank to issue banknotes on the island (1844) and Treasury notes were withdrawn in 1856. The Indian rupee was formally established as the unlimited legal tender 18 June 1869. The rupee was decimalized 23 August 1871. Thus, the rupee of 100 cents became Ceylon's money of account and sole legal tender effective 1 January 1872, replacing British currency at a rate of 1 rupee = 2 shillings 3 pence. Today in Sri Lanka there are coins in the denominations of 1, 2, 5, 10, 25, 50 cents and 1, 2, 5, 10 Rupees. There are banknotes in the denominations of 10, 20, 50, 100, 200, 1000 and 2000 Rupees.


Collection of Stamps for Sri Lanka (& Ceylon before 1972). Collectors items related to Commemoration


Collection of Stamps for Sri Lanka (& Ceylon before 1972). Collectors items related to Gam Udawa

Stamps, ST JOHN

Collection of Stamps for Sri Lanka (& Ceylon before 1972). Collectors items related to St John


Collection of Stamps for Sri Lanka (& Ceylon before 1972). Collectors items related to Pirivena


Collection of Stamps for Sri Lanka (& Ceylon before 1972). Collectors items related to Amphibians

Want List
Manage Want List to open saved list
Banknote-Sri Lanka 500 Rupee - 2001
Sri Lanka 500 Rupee - 2001
Banknote-Sri Lanka 100 Rupee 1979
Sri Lanka 100 Rupee 1979
Stamp Mini Sheet
Stamp Mini Sheet-Orphaned Giants on Earth (Elephant Orphanage Pinnawala)
Orphaned Giants on Earth (Elephant Orphanage Pinnawala)
Stamp Mini Sheet
Stamp Mini Sheet-Vesak 1997
Vesak 1997